It’s the first post of 2013. Merry Christmas.

In keeping with the tradition of this blog, this post comes a couple weeks late and a dollar short. This wouldn’t be DJ D’s Great and Secret Show unless we were doing a Christmas post in damn January. I hope everyone had a good holiday. I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. I just kind of…do things…on my own time. I’ve found that as soon as I start making giant proclamations that I’m going to write more, it’s exciting for about half a day and four months later I finally get round to firing something off. But, I’ve got this vid in my phone I wanted to share and I’ve got some free time today, so no excuses. I’ve actually gotten quite a bit done this weekend. I don’t chalk this up to the new year, but rather that I came down with the worse case of the flu and bronchitis ever documented in the history of medicine (or at least it felt that way) last weekend, and I guess I’m just happy to not be sick anymore. I’ve actually had quite a bit of energy this weekend. Too bad I’m sure it will all be sucked out of me the second I have to walk back into my day job tomorrow morning. I hate my job so much.

But for now, we’re here. In mid-January…writing about Christmas.

This Christmas was a little different than most years. Usually, the schedule is that on Christmas Eve, I go to my aunt’s house on my dad’s side and have a big dinner with the extended family there – one of those deals with all the extended aunts, uncles and cousins that I only see once a year. After it’s over, my dad, me, his sister and her kids and his brother all go over to his house and we do our own gift exchange there. This year was a little different though because we had to do the small gift exchange on Sunday the 23rd because of some my cousins’ work schedules. In fact, they weren’t able to make it into town until 10pm that night, so that was when we started opening presents. We ended up staying up all night afterward talking and messing around with my uncle’s handgun (don’t ask).

Oh, quick side note: My aunt did something really cool for all of us. My grandfather was a P.O.W. in WW 2. He was captured in Italy and marched to Germany and forced to stay in a P.O.W. camp there until the end of the war. During that time he kept a journal. I’ve never read it, but have heard a lot about it. My aunt owns the original one, so she photocopied it and transcribed it by typing it up word for word to make it a little easier to read. She then made copies of all of that, put them into little binders and gave them to all of us as presents. I’m so happy to have finally gotten a copy of this and can’t wait to read it.

At one point, hours later, my dad started talking about which Christmas carol he hates the most. I don’t know what brought that on, but stay with me. This is going somewhere. You kind of have to get a little back story on my dad to know why this is so funny. He’s one of the funniest people I’ve ever known, but it’s in a very deadpan kind of way. I very rarely ever see him get worked up about much of anything. He has a very dry sense of humor and is, for the most part, incredibly serious and reserved. I don’t know if it was because of the late hour or the Christmas snack sugar rush, but I managed to catch the following on video and I’m so glad that I did because it’s so out of character for him, which kind of explains why we’re all laughing so hard. I’m not sure how well this is going to translate and may be one of those you-had-to-be-there kind of deals, but hey, content is content. At least I’m writing something.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

