Breaking my own rules.

Right, so see that little link just to the right there called, ‘What’s all this then?’? If you click on that, you’ll see that I mentioned that I wouldn’t really talk about my DJ’ing stuff on the blog. That’s what my MySpace is for. But, it’s my blog and I can fudge on the rules if I want to–mostly cause I know that a lot of the folks that hang out here won’t really ever check out my Myspace anyway–well not without me giving them a real reason. And some of you might not even realize that I’ve got myself a little radio show. So, I’m telling you now! You can check out my MySpace to find out all about it and to see my weekly playlists. This post is mostly to let you guys know I’ve got a new time slot. I won’t be on this week, but starting the night of Monday, May 19th, well, here’s all you need to know:

Dark Entries w/ DJ D
Monday nights/Tuesday mornings–Midnight-3am (eastern)
WUSC 90.5.fm Columbia, SC
Streaming live on WUSC
On air DJ phone: 803-576-WUSC
On air DJ AIM: wusconair
Goth, Darkwave, Death Rock, Industrial, Horror

The show is officially a Goth themed specialty show, but I branch out into other genres like Industrial and occasionally metal, as well as new wave and synthy type stuff. I even get into the occasional Bjork, Tori Amos, Kate Bush, and David Bowie. Basically, I describe the show as “Goth music and music that Goths like”, which encompasses a lot of stuff that isn’t necessarily made by folks in heavy eyeliner. There’s also a huge emphasis on horror movies and horror culture. I review movies, play radio spots and trailers of horror movies, and talk about everything under the sun from comics to serial killers. If it doesn’t sound too skeery for you, and if you’re up that late, you should check it out.

Oh, and while I’m at it, just wanted to thank JoshC for well, trying to listen…and hopefully continuing to try in the future, and Squee4242 for not only going through loads of trouble to not only listen, but also for giving me the occasional phone call and keeping me company in between songs. Looking forward to that when I return in a week to the new time slot. For you guys who enjoy the show, feel free to hit me up on MySpace with requests, or give me an IM or call while I’m on the air.

Ok, that’s it. From here on out, I’ll try to keep the show out of the blog, and vice versa. We’ll see how that goes. As for my next blog, it’ll be the contagious “meme” that seems to be floating around the last few days that. Seems as though I’ve been tagged a few times. Maybe I should get a cream or something for that.

18 Responses to “Breaking my own rules.”

  1. And I will continue to listen.
    I’m digging the new schedule, Now I can listen and not have to stay up until 5 in the morning to do so.
    At any rate, May 19 is circled on my calender.

  2. Aw heck D, you got it bud! I’ll be sure to listen on 5/19.

    PS, I got around to ripping off your “3 Groovy Things” idea 😀

  3. I’m blogrolling your right now DJ D. Just so you know.

  4. kittymao Says:

    Oh man- That would be so sweet if I could listen… I’d even call in if given the chance.
    The only issue I have with this is that I am a california gal and… well, That would mean I’d be listening from 3-6 am and that is just NOT conducive to my normal working-gal scheduele.

    Maybe some day DJ D. Some day.

    in the meantime, keep truckin!

  5. Hang on, I’m a socal girl myself, and I was expecting to be listening between 9 pm and midnight? I wouldn’t be able to listen in the early am hours either…DJ D, can you do any kind of podcasting for people that can’t stream live?

  6. kittymao and squee, Yeah, I forgot to mention in the post that I’m working on setting up podcasting now. I’m going to look into it this weekend when I get back into town. Ideally I’d like to have it totally set up before the first show on Monday but we’ll see how it goes. There are like a gazillion options for doing that and up until about a week ago I knew absolutely nothing about it. The station itself doesn’t have it set up already for all the shows, so all the individual DJ’s have to do that for themselves. Right now I’m looking at all my options and trying to find the one that works best for me. I’ll keep you guys posted as it goes along though. Hopefully I’ll have it set up soon. I want it for myself too, because often times I’ll do a really great show and unless I record it, it’s gone forever. I’d like to have a way to archive them.

  7. SO I’m guessing Tom Jones and Eartha Kitt probably don’t fit the the general theme of the show that well.

  8. I need to post this for my blog roll for mandatory listening. That and Art Bell.

  9. Mmmkay, you are on waaaaay too late for my bedtime. But I promise when I am on vacation next month I am going to bother you plenty when you are on the air, play some extra Cure the 9th through the 23rd. I already have you on my AIM in preparation.

  10. kittymao, I could be wrong, but isn’t California like 3 hours behind us? So, wouldn’t the show be 9pm-12am for you? I dunno, but I thought that was how it was.

    doho, I miiiiight be able to slip some Tom Jones in there, but only to be funny. Come to think of it, naw, I don’t think so. Ha-ha! We’ll see how that turns out. But, you should totally listen anyway! Oh, and I had a debate with someone the other day who said that Eartha Kitt was the best Catwoman, but for my money it was Julie Newmar, hands down. Of course, he also said that Ceasar Romero was the best Joker ever, and I’ve gotta go with Nicholson, at least for now. We’ll see how it is after The Dark Knight comes out.

    Will, Thanks loads man, and yeah, Art Bell is actually one of my biggest radio influences. I blatently rip him off from time to time. Well, maybe not blatently, but yeah, I borrow some of his bumper music, and can only hope to one day have a show as good as his. He’s near the top of my “People I Would Love To Meet One Day” list.

    kristiane, Feel free to bother away. Just don’t call up and request “Freebird.” For some reason, once a month I still get someone who calls up and honestly thinks that not only is that funny, but they’re the first person to think to do it. It really stopped being funny a loooong time ago. And I ALWAYS play extra Cure. Don’t worry about that. They’re only my favorite band in the whole world. I’m seeing them next month! 7th ROW!

  11. kittymao Says:

    Oh-
    I think you’re right.
    New York has its New Year’s three hours before we do.
    SO I was all thinking I was like out in the Azores and shit.

    And You’re going to play “Pain in the World” by Danzig for me. Just cause that is just…
    uhm.
    an awesome song.
    I was singing it in the shower this morning.
    Don’t know when, tho-
    I’ll let you know when I’m listening, so thatways I can call and harass you with it.

  12. All three Catwomen from the 60s represent sexy back when sexy was done right. Eartha Kitt actually was the best Catwoman to me, it’s just the episodes themselves didn’t use her to her full potential. I think Ceasar Romero was a wonderful Joker. Mark Hammil’s voice has thus far been the best modern day Joker in my opinion. The Dark Knight is going to be incredibly hard to watch knowing Heath is dead. One thing that I won’t even accept any other opinion on is Frank Gorshin’s Riddler.

  13. I have to agree w/ the Hammil assessment. I’d love to tell him its my favorite role…next to the Larry 3000 from Time Squad. 😄

    I guess I have to try to catch your show. ^^

  14. I think my next tattoo will be the details of when your show is on, on my hand.
    so I don’t, for the 10th time miss it again.

  15. Hope you guys enjoyed the show last night. I think it was one of my favorites ever. Thanks Mystie, JoshC, and Squee for keeping me company all night with all the cool chat and requests. I hope to be getting podcasting set up in the next few weeks. I’ll keep everybody updated on that as it happens. I think I’ll work on another blog tonight–FINALLY. I’ve been really sick the past week and really busy with work. Honestly, I’ve been just so sick I couldn’t even bother to crawl out of bed and just read my usual blogs, much less write one. I’ll get on it tonight though. I think I know what the next 3 or 4 posts will be. Hopefully they’ll start looking a little better cause I’m finally getting that digital camera I’ve been talking about for so long.

  16. I’ve never tried to listen to a Podcast before but the notion intrigues me.
    Does this mean I can download dark entries and listen to it at work?
    Looking forward to the new update and snazzy new pictures!

  17. Actually, I’ve never listened to one either and I’m learning about it all for the first time myself. Apparently there are a lot of different options out there for setting one up. I’m just waiting a couple of weeks until I move because I’m got some problems with my internet connection here at my current place that are prohibiting me from downloading any streaming media to create the podcast. Hopefully that’ll be solved once I get into my new place.

    But to answer your question, yeah, once it’s available you can download it and listen to it anytime. In the last couple of months I’ve had a ton of people ask me when I’ll finally have them available so I really need to get on it. I’m getting an IPod myself soon cause I’ve needed one for a long time. All my coworkers bring theirs and listen to them at work and I’m looking forward to doing that. It’ll make the day go by a LOT faster! There are a lot of podcasts out there aside from my show that I really want to listen to myself, so yeah I’m really looking forward to it too.

    doho, Frank Gorshin as Riddler = Perfection. That’s all there is to say about that. Mark Hammil does do a great Joker, I’ll give him that, but I have too much nostalgia linked to Nicholson’s Joker to let it go. I don’t like the way the newer Joker is drawn in The Batman cartoon though. I don’t like the dreads and yellow teeth. I don’t know why, but I really don’t like that everytime he’s presented in a cartoon they give him yellow teeth. He doesn’t always have those in the comics. I think I like the classic look with the tailored purple and green clothes, wide brim hat, and all that–kind of the way he appeared in The Killing Joke. Lately he’s been kind of reinventing himself in the comics–sometimes appearing with really short hair, almost shaved. For a while he was disguising himself as a magician whom had had murdered, wearing makeup to cover his appearance. In the most recent issue of the Batman title he got broken out of Arkham by a secret organization who’s out to kill Batman. The storyline’s called R.I.P. and is going to cross over into all the Bat-books this summer. Supposedly Batman’s getting killed off sometime in June or July and will be replaced by Nightwing or Robin, although I doubt he’ll stay “dead” for very long. Grant Morrison, who’s writing it, said that it’s a “fate worse than death”, so I don’t know what that’s supposed to mean.

  18. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Beulah.

Leave a Reply

