One…two…Rorschach’s coming for you…

Right, so I’m overdue for another post, and I’ve got loads of things I want to do, but the following has got me ALL KINDS of excited, so I had to post it. By now I’m sure most of you have seen the just released first looks at our NEW FREDDY KRUEGER!!! But in case you haven’t, here ya go…

freddy

Freddy poster

I’m pretty happy so far. It saddens me that there actually will be a new Nightmare movie without Robert Englund, but I trust Jackie Earle Haley to do something interesting with it, and I’m incredibly relieved that they didn’t make any drastic changes to the hat, sweater, and glove. In fact, I think the glove looks great. I’ve been reading a few things here and there from people who have seen closer looks at the makeup that there is a slight difference (a more “realistic” burned look), but from what little we can make out so far, it looks good. Also, there seems to be an effort to return the franchise to its original scary roots, as opposed to the ridiculous comical turn that the original series took in the later movies.

I’m just glad we’re finally getting a look at something. I’ve been checking all my usual horror/news sites daily for a few months now just dying for a peek at anything, but they’ve done an amazing job of security on this thing as far as not letting anything get leaked out. Now let’s see a trailer!

Now, it’s just a matter of whether or not Michael Bay, who is producing, will screw it up. Anyone who knows any little thing in the world about me knows I’m not exactly a fan of his, and was none too impressed by what happened with the Friday the 13th remake, but we’ll see. Although, and I hate to admit this, I actually did like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, even though I seem to be in the minority on that one.

The thing that concerns me the most are the one-dimensional descriptions of the other characters in the movie. Nancy will be the token Goth girl, then there’s a guy who’s a podcast-making nerd, and I’m sure there will be the standard jock/a-hole, a token black kid, yadda, yadda, yadda…I HATE this whole trend lately of having every young character in horror movies completely summed up in one word. Even in the cheesiest of early F13 and Nightmare movies, there was some kind of depth to some of the characters. Sometimes you even, oh I don’t know, actually cared about them. I guess time will tell. We’ve got till April of next year to over-analyze and talk ourselves into hating it early.

Aaaand, since it’s July, and my Halloween yearning is already in full affect, I’ve got some other creepiness to discuss. I’ve had some skeery critters hanging out on my porches lately. I’ve already discussed in a previous post my evil omen-bringing bird buddy that’s been hanging out. Well, he’s returned, and this time was on the back porch. He tends to switch back and forth between front and back. I can’t even take my trash out now without living in fear of getting dragged to hell by a pecking flock of infernal horrors. Check him out, looking over his shoulder, giving me the evil eye…

bird2

Well, it seems, he’s not satisfied in taunting me himself. He’s recruited other amphibious, legions of the damned. I found THIS little fella on my front porch the other night. Sorry for the dodgy quality. Best I could do with my cell phone using just the porch light for lighting…

frog

Then, to make things worse, I decided to sweep the porch today and sweep away some of the spiderwebs in the corners of the door frame. That’s where I came across this guy. In case you can’t make it out, it’s a giant spider. In a giant web. And it’s dead.

spider

Now these could all just be random coincidences…or, all of Hell itself could be conspiring against me to use a series of omens and signs that will over time drive me to the point of cackling madness. Don’t worry. I’ll be sure to document the entire spiral.

As a final note, I went off and got myself a haircut yesterday. A very short one. The lady who did it was sitting down reading a magazine when I walked in. She sighed, stood up, greeted me in a very monotone and annoyed voice, and acted the entire time as if I had just slit her dog’s throat, skinned it, laid it on her lap, and then demanded a haircut. I mean, she could not have possibly been more annoyed that she had to actually go to work for 15 minutes.

But, something good (aside from the haircut itself) is coming out of it. In an effort to appease my legion of fans and loyal readers, I’m fulfilling a request. The other day on Facebook, Kristiane requested a pic of the results. So, I’ll do you one better. I’ll give you two. Take that, Pliver!

me looking

funny look

EEK! indeed…

4 Responses to “One…two…Rorschach’s coming for you…”

  1. Bravo! I love when my demanding requests are met 😉

    Anytime, anytime. You name it, and if I can pull it off, it’s done.

  2. I’m a little more pessimistic about the new Nightmare on Elm St. movie. I hate when the originals are messed with and in my opinion, 90% of the remakes suck. And, no Robert Englund?! That’s just unnatural!

    I agree about the Robert Englund thing. It breaks my heart, but at least they got someone I trust. I fear it may be a repeat of the F13 remake though…in the beginning I was so jazzed when I got little glimpses, and ended up incredibly disappointed. I don’t want to jinx it, but Hollywood remakes have burned me too many times.

    All your porch creatures have me yearning for Halloween! I’m getting excited to do all my Halloween decorating. Hopefully I’ll have a cool drawing to put up too. (hint, hint)

    Stranger things have happened…

    I was totally planning on getting a haircut yesterday, but I already let you know about my spending this weekend so, I’m going to get my haircut next week instead. However, I have to find somewhere to go near my new place eventually. I’ll probably just end up going to my old spot next week.

    And just so you know again…I hate this heat!

    You and me both!

  3. Hey Pal. I found your future wife!

    http://finalgirl.blogspot.com/

    Good work, old man! Good work! She and I would have a lot to talk about, that’s for sure.

  4. I still love that bird. Maybe he’s there to kill the spiders and the toads, ever thought of that?

    Weird development on that. Since I wrote this post, he’s been on the back porch every single night…up until about a week ago. Haven’t seen him since. However, the frog has been on the front porch ever since he left. I don’t know what’s going on, but it’s blowing my mind.

    We’ve missed you around here, btw.

Leave a Reply

