R.I.P. Snow Thing

Well, the snow’s all gone and the poor little guy has gradually sunk into an icy grave. I like to think he’s just slinking away to his lair, getting ready to go into a slumber until Hell freezes over again and he can creep up on us again whenever we get another big snow. Here are a couple of pics I took over the course of a few days after the big snow, showing his gradual decline.

You can see here the beginning of the end. This one’s my favorite. He’s still keeping one eye on you as a subtle reminder that he may disappear but he will always haunt your dreams. Or cradle you in a loving embrace–whichever way you swing.

I came out the other day and found this. Believe it or not, I didn’t touch that bucket. That’s exactly how I found it. It was like he neatly took it off his head and placed it there, ready for me to tidy up. You can see one of his eyes on the ground there. The other one was in front of it, out of the frame.

It was nice knowing you, Snow Thing. Like Dr. Frankenstein himself, I fear that my creation has ventured out into the world on his own and will return with a vengeance, demanding I make him a bride. I guess we’ll find out the next time it snows. Luckily, since it only snows around here once every 4,000 years, we won’t have to worry about that anytime soon.

All Hail Snow Thing!

6 Responses to “R.I.P. Snow Thing”

  1. Slumpy the Snow Thing
    Couldn’t help how he was made
    No carrot nose
    No pristine snow
    And a hand of rusty blade

    Slumpy the Snow Thing
    Kinda sad and weird and brown
    If you’re bad this year
    Better hide in fear
    ‘Cause he’s coming to your town

    There must have been some “tragic” in that bucket on his head
    ‘Cause when DJ D woke up that day, he found poor Slumpy dead

    Slumpy the Snow Thing
    Was a waste of snow they say
    He was loose and low
    But the children know
    He was born to melt away

    See, THAT is exactly what we’re friends. I love it. I fucking love it. Your stock is soaring right now, lady.

  2. R.I.P.-Snow Thing. May he live forever in our hearts! Or our computer backgrounds!

    Immortal at last! Snow Thing and I are honored.

  3. I close my eyes
    Only for a moment and the moment’s gone
    All my dreams
    Pass before my eyes with curiosity

    Dust in the wind
    All they are is dust in the wind

    You’re my boy snow thing! You’re my boy!

    If you look real close, you can see one single, frozen tear coming out of Snow Thing’s eye. That was very touching.

  4. Ah, I wish my snowmen would melt, but right now my area is covered in three feet of snow, with a layer of shiny ice on top.

    I’d love 3 feet of snow! Send me some. It’s boring here. Just cold and rainy. Although, I do love a good thunderstorm.

  5. He’ll be back!

    I like to think of him as the villain in an ’80’s slasher movie. It’s only a matter of time before we see inevitable sequel.

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

