The Good Mourning Team has a Sweater Day

First off, I’d like to say that I am not making a vow to write more. Not going to do it. The reason is, every time I make some great proclamation that I’m going to do something and commit to it this time (write more blogs, go to the gym, lay off the soda, etc), I flake out on it approximately 7 minutes after announcing it to the world. But, I’ve found that if I just do it, make no promises, and don’t talk about it at all, it just gets done. So, this is me, not promising anything, but instead, finding myself coming up with a lot of ideas lately and an intense desire to rattle off something at least once or twice a week. That’s the goal. Nope. I take that back. Not a goal. Just something that’s likely to happen. If Rev. Back It On Up 13 can write 37 posts a day, there’s no reason why I can’t do something around here.

So, that being said (in a long winded fashion), here’s what I’d like to discuss today. I work with a bunch of morons. I don’t like to discuss my day job too much with the rest of the world, but it involves a lot of technology, a lot of nerds, and a lot of stress. And a boss who, while he manages quite a few people and has a position full of responsibility, is apparently allergic to Spell Check. Also, he’s been walking with a weird, lumbering limp lately, and I’m not sure what that’s about. Oh, and not too far from me sits a pre-op transgendered person who frequently loses his or her temper and has been given a stern talking-to on more than one occasion about yelling and throwing things. Yeah, that’s just a taste of the sideshow I’m dealing with up there.

The following are excerpts from e-mails and memos that have been sent out over the past week or so. If this looks bad, don’t even get me started on the spreadsheets. Btw, these appear exactly as I received them. I have not altered them in any way, be it with spelling, punctuation, or lack thereof.

“Good Mourning Team I will be bringing around a updated product liability handout with a sign off sheet showing that it is attached. Tomorrow will be sweater day so if you want to dress down where your favorite sweater to work…Lets make sure we take every step to be successful no short cuts.”

“Good Mourning Team Today is the start of a new month so we need to make sure that we our focus we can’t afford to put our self in the hold this month. QA is a must that we past this month we all our accountable there is no reason we can’t follow the steps to past QA. As you all know we have the agent bonus payout scale still going so keep in mind that extra money is still on the line team.”

After reading over this, I can’t get my mind off what a “Good Mourning Team” might be. I have no idea, but I’d like to put one together. Sounds like my idea of a good time. I’m sure Jugendsehnsucht would be down for it.

Oh no. I just figured it out. Boss Limpypants is actually my mystery texter from a couple of years ago.

Sweater Day Icy Entertainment?

6 Responses to “The Good Mourning Team has a Sweater Day”

  1. I’m trying to keep it down to one post a day, I swear. Good heavening, team.

  2. Well, at least it wasn’t as awkward as Mourning Wood.
    Which is, of course, my Joy Division cover band.

  3. Problem with this clown is that the words are spelled right, but he’s grammatically incorrect. I would have to kill my boss if this is the kind of emails I got.

    Sorry…haven’t read the other posts. I’ll try soon, but all I do is work now! 😦

    • I just found out today that he’s no longer my boss. A new guy just took that position, so maybe from here on the e-mails will be a little more legible.

      I understand about work. I work 4-10’s now, so I’m usually in the building for nearly 11 hours a day. I’ve got Thursdays off though, so it’s almost worth it. Almost.

  4. Hoverbored Says:

    Why didn’t you tell me you worked for Tommy Wiseau?

    Seriously, when I sound it out in my head, it sounds like someone for whom English is a second language. Picturing Tommy Wiseau as your boss is oddly hilarious.

    “Wow, you look so sexy DJ!”

    “Anything for my boyyy!”

    “I did not send that text! It’s bulls—! I did not send it! I did NOT!!! Oh hi, DJ!”

Leave a Reply

